“Thanks for taking so much of your time the other day…”

Sometimes I get handwritten cards that begin that way, as one of the “techie dudes” at the Specs Howard School of Broadcast Arts, and I know the others on staff get a lot more that I get about the same thing, usually after landing at a job they never expected to get.    

Revisiting people of the past also seems also like an exercise many of us go through every so often.  Sometimes those people from way back even become active in your life again.  But there’s nothing like the present and those I get to hang with today.

Almost two years ago, I was surprised with an award I was given at a radio convention I normally attend.  The convention chairman and I go back a lot of years.  

 As I am now, I was a dealer of “old-time” programs, and published a newsletter during the 1970s (no cracks, I was in HIGH SCHOOL at the time!) called News & Reviews.  

This old friends’ profession was that of a graphic artist. He was just a tiny bit older than myself, and well established and respected in his field.  I was a newbie, or a hobbyist, or an entry-level broadcast person ready bid a fond farewell to my teenage years.  

Yet I could string a few words together than made sense and what I listened to on radio or tape, or record made for lots of written content.  I had developed both fans as well as people who hated me.  Some would even call me on the phone using a creative collection of profanity, call me names or make threats.  Ahh, such is the life of a writer who speaks his mind!  

But there were bright moments as well.  In 10th grade I had published an underground newspaper simply called “Rock Review” that one of my favorite teachers quietly ran on the school “ditto” machine.  Once I even wrote a feature about Dick Purtan who was then doing mornings on WXYZ-AM, and sent a copy to Mr. Purtan.  Much to my surprise, a week or so later, I received a hand-typed note of thanks from Dick Purtan himself on WXYZ/ABC letterhead. There was an aside from Dick to give “his best” to my long-haired ultra-cool English teacher I had at that time.  

Much later (after my school days) during the latter years of the 1970s, that afore-mentioned Cincinnati graphic artist / radio fan and I plus another friend would soon team up to publish one of the largest circulating old-time radio magazines of its type.  During the mid 1980s he would also start a radio convention in Cincinnati, which is still going strong.  


Only this year, I stumbled on an interview he did early this year in a national publication, crediting me by name as the very first “old-time” radio person he was in contact with.  It is a cool thing to be remembered and acknowledged.  It is never necessary, but it is appreciated.

Back in the day, we called our publication “Collector’s Corner,” which was never a newsletter or newspaper. It was always a magazine and we soon absorbed some of our competition. “National Radio Trader” became a logo that became part of ours.  Typesetting services were expensive back in the days before computers, but WE HAD a graphic artist who gladly took old radio tapes as “payment” plus we had our trusty IBM Selectric and Smith Corona typewriters with “film” ribbons that reproduced well.

My co-editor had a business called Nostalgia Warehouse (which I would absorb into my own in later years) and I had a similar business that I had started in high school.  

It is no surprise that all of us have remained friends to this day.  What is sometimes a surprise – a pleasant one – when one or more of us gets a chance to remember each other to an audience that might not have been around when we were publishing magazines and getting accolades just because we knew how to write and manage each other.

I have “artfully” NOT mentioned most of the names here since you wouldn’t know them anyway. They do know who they are, although they may not realize the impact they made on my life and to a degree, still do.

But again, there is still nothing like the people of the present – those who may wonder what led to us knowing what know.  They may actually be surprised that someone like me will so readily stop on a dime to help someone regardless of what we may have been in the middle of.  

My colleagues today may have the same attitude, but simply arrived at that mentality in a different way. But they are, in fact, my teachers of today, yet they may also be my students on a different day.  Obviously, we don’t need anyone to sneak into the office during lunch breaks to “publish” our thoughts. No "ditto" publications these days with the purple ink!

Instead, we publish it on a blog site. 

As for the Collector’s Corner-National Radio Trader “Art Director,” today he has a computer too, and is not afraid to use it.     But he has not forgotten those people who gave him content when the typewriters were still on our desks, or who sent him that missing I Love a Mystery episode.

5/3/2011 01:09:14 pm

Sincerity is a kind of heart open
Deceiving others, and honesty is only temporary for long
When credit disappeared, but the flesh is no life

Reply
2/26/2012 10:03:54 am

funny articl.i love it very much.thanks saw this page bookmarked and very much liked what I read. I will surely bookmark it as well and also go through your other posts tonight.Thanks for you sharing

Reply
2/26/2012 10:04:06 am

Good share, you topic is very great and useful for us…thank you. I just like the approach you took with this subject. It isn’t every day that you discover something so concise and enlightening.

Reply
2/26/2012 10:16:05 am

I agree with your Blog and I will be back to check it more in the future so please keep up your work. I love your content & the way that you write. It looks like you have been doing this for a while now, how long have you been blogging for?

Reply
3/9/2012 04:55:36 pm

quasi nessuno più grande stabilizzare snowboard, quasi nessuna mossa topper quasi nessun controller. Si è permesso passo, spostare, dare insieme con spinta a destra infasi i passanti della via insieme più efficace la salute e il benessere. Ad esempioNintendo in buona forma, inoltre, Workout modello di un individuo è cresciuto arriva conuna moltitudine di interessanti, outs di lavoro interattive, tra cui la lotta, il pattinaggio o semplicemente tai chi. Distinto da WIFIT Inoltre, ancora, qualsiasi finestra X 360 migliorielite ti permetterà di scaricare e installare diversi piani di allenamento per appenderetutti insieme scorrevole da un fossato. Un sostenitore punto molto alto per fare esercizioutilizzando compagni, Workout modello di un individuo è cresciuto allo stesso tempofacilita attributi multiplayer da gioco Xbox 360 SI TROVANO. Zumba Workout(PlayStation 3, PSP la console di gioco. Insieme con Xbox) Per la gente che di solito non personale, un buon Nintendo o semplicemente X box 360 elite, variante Xbox 360 3per Zumba Workout sono probabilmente il

Reply
3/11/2012 06:53:29 pm

Persone da una varietà di cornersof il viaggio in terra questo articolo divertirsi con questo splendore sulla zona, oltre ad osservare l'abilità theenchanting oltre al modo di vita in questa posizione filippina.Metropolis possiede ton bene proprio touristswho sono disponibili in questo articolo per l'attività.

Reply
3/19/2012 05:30:05 pm

Io in realtà sono stati possedere solo un paio di destinazioni questo dato alloggio abitazione balneari cassetta postale di persone abbastanza alcuni dettagli, comunque io in realtà non è molto felice. Subito dopo un mese o più, io in realtà come un punto finale dotato intorno, più marcato l'impresa proprio bene mentre nella borgata più atteso a persone cassetta postale gli affitti di abitazione ascensori casa al mare oltre a quasi tutto ciò che è utile. Una varietà di un breve periodo alla fine,

Reply
4/16/2012 04:35:17 pm

Decorative painting and landscape painting, art paintings for sale have a high artistic level and ornamental value.abstract art paintings We can Glimpse from the style of beauty and local culture, experience the exoticcustoms.art deco paintings Composition layout of the whole painting light and dark has caused exude amood, ie,art paintings dense and thick, colorful, gleaming, makes the whole picture and intricate,beautiful, give a sense of the people relaxed and happy. http://www.artforsalecheap.com

Reply
4/16/2012 04:42:07 pm

If not for the nets. Anthony was tempted in the game who also think of Lin, there may be no "Lin to crazy". Kobe Bryant Shoes But we go back ten years, if no brother Lin, books, and may even LinShuHao the people don't exist. Lebron James Shoes LinShuHao said in an interview, oneself in 5 years old have drown, kevin garnett shoes at that time it was delivered his brother. In addition, Derrick Rose Shoes in the way of the basketball, brother to given is also very good guide. "To say words of idols, basketball is sure to Jordan. The stadium, kobe vi for sale the elder brother to me word of outside influence is very big." Lin said

Reply
5/2/2012 08:46:49 pm

Let’s know more details about our finest quality mont blanc pens sale. You just need to click to our website to own discount mont blanc pens.

Reply
5/2/2012 08:47:24 pm

The Dr Dre Beats Sale. By our professional service, you can buy your favorite Beats By Dr Dre Limited Edition from us with full confidence.

Reply
9/10/2012 04:17:49 pm

Coco Before Chanel is a story of Gabrielle Coco Chanel.
http://www.louisvuittoncanadalv.ca Louis Vuitton Canada

Reply



Leave a Reply.