It has been a weekend filled with glitches…

The weekend starting of  8/19/07 will go down in my life as one of those weekends where everything I touch turns to manure!  

That’s right.  Nothing went right, and it was all techie related!  As most of you know, I make my living working on and installing broadcast equipment, and when something completely out of left field breaks and I can’t figure out how to fix it, I’m ready to carry it to the dumpster.

What really ticks me off is the horrible customer service and “I don’t give a crap” attitude some of these people have in places like Circuit City and Best Buy (yes, the so-called Geek Squad). 

Customers (that would be US) are their reason for existing!  They would not have a job without us spending money with their employer.  Not MY fault if they hate their job.  Try making sandwiches at Arbys instead.  Sometimes radio doesn’t pay very well and once in my very ancient past, I DID.  I NEVER treated fast food customers that way.

I won’t go into detail now about it except to say I WILL continue to support online businesses who atleast you usually don’t have to deal with these people.  

In reverse order…

Things that are pending and messed up in my life:

Bought a new CD and after listening to it awhile the factory CD player in my Jeep Liberty would not eject!  I like the CD, but not to listen to for the rest of the time I have the vehicle!  Pending at this very moment.  

Got a new processor for my band and either the damn thing is defective, or I can’t figure out how to use it!   I think it’s defective. If it’s that hard to figure out for me, it’s a piece of crap design, but I really think it’s messed up.  Thank you Behringer.  Most of your products are great, especially for the money.  This one sucks. Another pending item.

My Gateway computer (only 6 months old) with all the pricey Adobe software, website stuff and databases for everything turned itself off and would not turn on.  Circuit City, where I bought it, said it was a power supply, but since I didn’t buy THEIR service policy, wouldn’t honor the manufacturer warranty (Gateway would later tell me that was nonsense).  I decided to try Best Buy since they were an authorized service center, but they refused to lift a finger and had no sympathy.  I did buy a power supply and swapped it out myself along with a bunch of other parts, but the computer was still dead.  It has a "null stop" where it won't even boot.  Sounds like a failed motherboard to me.

So now Gateway tells me to take it to Staples, BUT if I did take it back to Circuit City and they refused again, to get the store number and employee name and they would “report it.”  Report it!!?  To whom?  The computer warranty cops?  Big deal.  I just want a functioning box that I paid a lot of money for!!  I will say I appreciate the fact that Gateway support is actually based in the U.S. 

Meantime, because of the dead Gateway, I managed to bring back to life a very old (almost 10 years) Mac that had most of the functions of the Gateway – if incredibly outdated or very painfully slow.  After some problems, it (more or less) worked.  My life is a little less painful.  Thank you Apple.  Your reliability always rocked!


(But sorry, these days I still prefer Windows machines).

Meantime, my laptop; only about a year old – also a Gateway – also lost sound.  I was told the sound card failed, but it would need a new motherboard because the sound was built in (completely out of warranty).  I decided to live without sound and add a separate sound card later.  Too many trips through airport security?  Maybe, but I don't think so.

There’s a lot more annoyances going on, but for now, those are my weekend issues.

Maybe I should just skip next weekend and work straight through.  Everything at work seems to function pretty much reliably, day in, day out, and I like that!

Part of that is I’m NOT a snotty “big box” store employee who couldn’t care less about customers.

NEXT COMPUTER:  I’m building it myself from scratch!  The computer I built a few years ago for audio has had its share of freakishness, but it WORKS day in, day out.  It’s a rock, and the Customer Service Center is ME!

I know everything here boils down to petty whining, but everything I buy comes with dollars that I worked for.  Nobody gave me anything, so I expect something of reasonable quality for my investment.  If part of the selling point is “how great” the warranty is, and I get nothing but aggravation and hassle when I have to use it, I feel ripped off!

Why not just BUILD THE PRODUCT BETTER so it doesn’t fail within months!?  There’s a concept. Stop building stuff in Korea and China.  I’ll gladly pay the higher price so that more people in the U.S. can have jobs building them.

The reason my job is easier is so much broadcast equipment is built in the good ole U.S.A. and the person who installed it is, too.

 









11/4/2010 12:47:39 pm

All work is pretty hard day cool don't forget to add clothes take good care of yourself more meal cherish friendship often think of message sentiment long speech all did not only wish more friends and health.

Reply
5/3/2011 01:05:51 pm

The truth is often said half the big life
Sincere person, word is of the sky; Sincere way of those people
Discreditable is a failure

Reply
9/13/2011 04:41:07 pm

I read with great interest.Your article looks nice,thank you for sharing with us!

Reply
10/24/2011 06:00:36 pm

I would like to start off by stating, thank you for supplying me with the information I’ve been looking for. I have been surfing the internet for two hours searching for it and wish I would have found your site sooner. Not only did I locate what I was looking for, but found answers to questions I never even thought to ask myself. Thank you for such a wonderful web-site...

Reply
12/22/2011 02:52:20 pm

Very interesting article, its content slick. It makes sense to give us a lot of knowledge and helpful information. Knowledge is not a lot of contact with the previous tutorial. Very fortunate to receive from you about this, really pleased and thank you for sharing.

Reply
12/29/2011 03:05:04 pm

Your article is very interesting and humorous. From your article, I can see the true meaning of the word happy. This article, I believe many people are helpful. Very fortunate to share this article to your. Look forward to your updates.

Reply
12/29/2011 03:05:48 pm

Of,course! As well know, your article is very attractive, many of my friends have such thoughts, like so many people comment on your articles, look forward to your new works

Reply
12/29/2011 03:07:50 pm

It was very informative and I also digg the way you write!I love your article, and I am deeply attracted by your idea and sense among your words.Please keep us up to date like this.

Reply
3/9/2012 04:58:08 pm

insieme con il funzionamento. In questi giorni, al posto del pad più grandi o le salvaguardie spostare semplicemente non rispondono, troverete ancora più attuale consemplici applicazioni tra cui Nintendo Stabilizzare Snowboard e Kinect Xbox 360.Tuttavia, non un'anima vuole sborsare tutta controllo buste paga della settimana per ivideogiochi che non hanno osservato risultato. Insieme con ciò che appunto si devesoprattutto fornire una sorta di scatola X 360 elite o semplicemente una PS3 strettePLAYSTATION 3 prodotti? Che diavolo è uno dei migliori match per il particolare sistema di giochi? Inoltre, in qualsiasi momento ottenere un sistema di gioco, che purtroppo in grado di fornire la più convenienza a coltivare

Reply
3/11/2012 06:56:34 pm

Mactan-CebuInternational Airportserves tra i gateway fondamentali connessi con Filippine. Quell'aria-port è di solito servedby una varietà di aziende che danno una miriade di volo connesse con gli arrivi dal nord america. CathayPacific Air tratto possiede molti arrivi di gestione dal Nord America per aiutare Cebu. Per chi proviene dalla Us, guarda la pagina web collegata con lo stato tratto Cathay Ocean Air per scoprire se, a tutti dotati d'oltremare arrivi biglietti del lotto per prezzo di vendita Cebuat meno.

Reply
3/19/2012 05:32:09 pm

Tutti lato mare abitazione affitti ha finito per essere incredibilmente più caro rispetto degli alberghi che lo superato e ho ottenuto, dopo aver detto che considerando quello che riusciva a poche famiglie giovani alloggiano ora c'è, questo più accessibile il costo all'interno di terzi. Tutto il nostro mandato inizialmente sembrava di vedere una abitazione ottenuto questo più che sufficiente,

Reply
3/23/2012 01:44:59 pm

I agree with your Blog and I will be back to check it more in the future so please keep up your work. I love your content & the way that you write. It looks like you have been doing this for a while now, how long have you been blogging for?

Reply
3/23/2012 01:45:20 pm

The information you provide must for some people is very important, I am also very interested in this content, thank you! I’ve always been concerned about your article, the content of this course, I may have different views, but the information you provide is very helpful for me, I always support you, yes, I have been doing.

Reply
3/23/2012 01:45:32 pm

At the network’s I wandered. By chance after your web site, read your post. Very fruitful,thank you for sharing. On the Internet, it is hard to find useful information. Thank you

Reply
4/16/2012 04:36:31 pm

Decorative painting and landscape painting, art paintings for sale have a high artistic level and ornamental value.abstract art paintings We can Glimpse from the style of beauty and local culture, experience the exoticcustoms.art deco paintings Composition layout of the whole painting light and dark has caused exude amood, ie,art paintings dense and thick, colorful, gleaming, makes the whole picture and intricate,beautiful, give a sense of the people relaxed and happy. http://www.artforsalecheap.com

Reply
4/16/2012 04:43:27 pm

If not for the nets. Anthony was tempted in the game who also think of Lin, there may be no "Lin to crazy". Kobe Bryant Shoes But we go back ten years, if no brother Lin, books, and may even LinShuHao the people don't exist. Lebron James Shoes LinShuHao said in an interview, oneself in 5 years old have drown, kevin garnett shoes at that time it was delivered his brother. In addition, Derrick Rose Shoes in the way of the basketball, brother to given is also very good guide. "To say words of idols, basketball is sure to Jordan. The stadium, kobe vi for sale the elder brother to me word of outside influence is very big." Lin said

Reply
4/16/2012 06:56:29 pm

The world does not know how many people, for ShuLan mistake of his life. Energy and activities. Do things, such as talking to consider problems, some people are very difficult.

Reply
4/16/2012 06:57:21 pm

Tasted hard, I can only see one side of the world, and I do not know the other side. ...... The real life, only after arduous struggle to realize after.

Reply
5/2/2012 05:30:21 pm

The content of your blog is very interesting, and very rich, and contains plenty of emotion . I like them very much , very much appreciate the personal views from those described in your article . Those are very meaningful. Thank you for sharing, I look forward to more of your wonderful update .

Reply
5/15/2012 04:24:39 pm

Very clear description of some of their own unique personal thoughts in your blog . I very much agree with these sentiments. I very much agree with your blog posts , its content is very rich and very good . The article contains a lot of valuable knowledge and information . Thank you for your wonderful sharing .

Reply
6/4/2012 06:04:22 pm

From my contact with your blog , my intuition told me that your blog will be extraordinary . Sure enough, by reading to understand your blog , its very good and exciting, the contents of the article is very prominent , contains a lot of valuable information . Thank you for your wonderful sharing, we are looking forward to more sharing .

Reply
6/29/2012 01:19:20 pm

Read so many good blogs, blog, learn a lot of meaningful knowledge. However, your blog unique style, not only to share valuable and meaningful information, but also from sharing your happiness. Humorous content of your article, so read your articles, people relaxed and happy.Thank you for your wonderful sharing.

Reply
7/19/2012 05:59:11 pm

I very much appreciate the excellent and wonderful like you blog article on the one hand from which to gain some knowledge and information they need , on the other hand contact with some like-minded Friends of Bo , we can exchange learning .

Reply



Leave a Reply.